top of page
Search
  • evazhao9

What to Fold...What to Fold...

Now that you have learned all you need to start folding - the basic folds and the different types of paper - it's time to fold something. However, there is a large variety of different origami models ranging from simple ones to insanely complex ones. So, what should you fold? There are different models that are suited for many different skill levels. As such, I will simply provide my own experience and what I folded in my journey through origami.


Like many, I was introduced to origami with the paper airplane and that was what I folded first. The instructions are extremely simple, only consisting of a few folds that end at a point on the edge of the paper. During this time, I also folded the classic origami model often used to represent the art of origami: the paper crane (instructions).


After folding simple models, I moved on to slightly harder models on the internet. The origami artist that I found was YouTuber JeremyShaferOrigami. He provides a variety of models of different levels. There are simple models as well as medium level and complex models. His designs are often simple and fun, capable of moving in a certain manner due to their designs. The first one I folded was the "One-Piece Origami Super Boomerang." There are many more folds in this than simple models as well as a requirement for finer detail. It took me many tries to successfully fold one that is capable of behaving like a boomerang. This is a difficult model, especially if it is the first time you are folding a harder piece of origami. However, with enough patience and determination, I am sure you can fold it too.


When I moved on to even harder origami models, I discovered another YouTuber by the name of Tadashi Mori. I folded my first piece of complex origami with his tutorial for the "Fiery Dragon by Kade Chan." This model requires great attention to detail in order to make every fold as exact as possible. Many components of the model such as its head and wings require very small folds. I also folded his "Darkness Dragon" that requires even finer attention to detail with its horns and feet. The complexity of this model causes it to be very difficult to fold with a normal sheet of computer paper cut into a square. The paper would simply be too small and thick. I had to utilize a 25 cm by 25 cm sheet of standard origami paper to successfully fold it.


Next, I moved on to super-complex origami with the origami models of Satoshi Kamiya. These models require very thin and big paper such as a sheet of 40 cm by 40 cm sheet of tissue-foil which I used to fold Satoshi Kamiya's Ancient Dragon. Many models may require even bigger paper.



This is the Ancient Dragon that I folded.
















I also folded many other models of Satoshi Kamiya:









This is the "Divine Dragon" by Satoshi Kamiya that I folded.








This is the "Phoenix" by Satoshi Kamiya that I folded.













As you can see, I mainly folded mythical creatures, however, there are a variety of other models that are just as detailed. For example, origamist Robert J. Lang folds a variety of extremely detailed insects.


Origami has a wide array of different models suited for many different levels. Many may seem difficult now, but, with enough practice and patience, anything can be created with a sheet of paper by your hands.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page